It’s been a while since I’ve written an update and it’s getting increasingly more difficult to find the time to. I thought I would have time over Christmas and New Year to do it but I didn’t, then I thought I’d have time to do it in Hong Kong but I didn’t, so I after much pondering, I’ve decided to call it a day and finish my blog.

I started my blog way back in September 2012 after my cancer diagnosis to help me, Ade and my immediate family. It was such a sudden diagnosis that we had trouble keeping up with what was happening, never mind coming to terms with it. It was actually Ade’s idea and the whole purpose was that it was a way to keep all our loved ones informed on what was going on without the need for them to come directly to us. The original purpose of the blog changed very quickly, it soon became a way for me to cope and get through the hell, but most importantly, it became a tool for other cancer patients, their loved ones, and even members of the medical profession.

If I’m honest, I didn’t think the blog would last, but when people started contacting to tell me how valuable the information and insight I provided was, I carried on, it then became one of the few things that kept me going. I found the blog therapeutic and it was mainly because I knew that it was somehow helping others. Cancer is really awful and if some good could come out of it, then I was happy to have made a difference.

I realised my blog meant something when I was nominated by several people around the world for the Lymphoma Association Beacons of Hope Award 2013 and won. I’ve read some of the submissions and it was really odd seeing words like courage and inspiration being used to describe me, they weren’t words I had ever associated with myself but it made me feel proud. It made me realise that writing the blog and committing to it was the right thing to do. I’ve somehow taken a really horrible period of my life and created something good.

I’m now 1 year and 8 months into remission and although I still have some ongoing health issue, there’s not much more I can add to my experience, hence the lack of updates. All I can hope for now is that my remission continues, so please hope with me and pray you never see me blogging about cancer ever again!

So now, I will sign off for the last time, at least on this particular blog. Thank you for all your kind words, your encouragement and the faith you had in me. Thank you for reading and being my audience. It’s now time for me to do what I do best, move forward, live and enjoy my life!  I hope you all do the same too!

As usual, some recent random photos below for you enjoyment!

Much love and good health to you all!

Goodbye – 再見 – Sayōnara – Au Revoir – G’day – Hejdå – Auf wiedersehen..

Ade and I at BBC Sports Personality of the Year Awards 2014 in Glasgow

IMG_3891

Me in Northern California (Sonoma) on Christmas Eve with a Ford Mustang (free upgrade!)  Dec 2014/Jan 2015
IMG_4125

Big Bear Lake in California. Spending quality time with friends and Ade at the log cabin in the mountains Dec 2014/Jan 2015IMG_6354Santa Monica Beach, Southern California.  Dec 2014/Jan 2015
IMG_6457Hanging out with friends on Sunset Blvd –  Dec 2014/Jan 2015IMG_4081Thailand Jan 2015IMG_4183

At a Tiger sanctuary in Thailand – Jan 2015IMG_0333Home in Hong Kong – Jan 2015IMG_0332

If you really want to know what’s happening in my life, then you can follow me on Twitter @KatOrr8 – though I must warn you, I talk a lot of rubbish!

